Back in 1924, while digging a well, local resident Anthony Xerri discovered a small cavern under an ordinary private house in Xagħra, in a street that bears the cave’s name. The grotto hosts several calcified formations, including stalactites and stalagmites, some of which resemble a tortoise, a vulture, a giraffe and a pair of elephant’s ears. In addition some formations which have developed as a result of the calcification of tree roots can also be seen. In World War II, the cave was extended so as to be used as an air raid shelter. Nowadays the cave is open to the public and tours are being given by the owners of the house. Entry to the grotto is via a 10 metre spiral staircase built into the original well shaft. Electric lights have also been installed so that visitors can see the rock formations during the tour.